Briefly Speaking...


A fresh new take on progressive metal/neoclassical shred incorporating the stylings of classic thrash bands!

New Jersey-based progressive metal quartet ETHERIUS was formed by guitarist Jay Tarantino in 2017. After gaining experience as a touring rhythm guitarist for guitar virtuoso Angel Vivaldi, Tarantino decided to branch out on his own with the goal of making music unlike the djent/electronic stylings of the current instrumental guitar scene. The result is ETHERIUS – a fresh new take on progressive metal/neoclassical shred incorporating the stylings of classic thrash bands such as MegadethTestament, and Iced Earth.


ETHERIUS is: Jay Tarantino (Guitars); John Kiernan (Guitars); Chris Targia (Bass); and Zaki Ali (Drums/Keyboards).

ETHERIUS is set to release their stunning debut EP, entitled Thread of Life, on August 24, 2018. The impressive new five track offering is available for pre-order via AmazoniTunes, and Google Play. You can also stream select tracks now via Spotify.

Thread of Life track listing:

1. Thread of Life

2. The Soothsayer

3. March and Defy

4. The Inevitable End

5. Lament

Thread of Life was produced and engineered by Jay Tarantino and Zaki Ali with Angel Vivaldi acting as co-producer, was recorded at Backroom Studios in Rockaway, New Jersey (owned by Dillinger Escape Plan guitarist Kevin Antreassin), and was mixed/mastered by Mutiny Within vocalist Chris Clancy at Audioworks Productions. Additional tracking was completed with Angel Vivaldi at his home studio.

With one listen to Thread of Life it’s clear that combined, the four extremely talented musicians of ETHERIUS produce a clean, awe-inspiring sound merging powerful progressive elements that will appeal to not only the most discerning and critical metal fans, but to the heavy music-loving masses as well.

Members of ETHERIUS are currently endorsed by Kiesel Guitars, Ernie Ball Music Man, and Reunion Blues.

ETHERIUS online:


  • Saturday, July 21, 2018
  • ETHERIUS w/ Angel Vivaldi & Hyvmine
  • Dingbatz – 620 Van Houten Ave, Clifton, NJ
  • Tickets: $15 General Admission
  • Doors: 6:00 PM
%d bloggers like this: