Band to release album in near future.

Portland’s Chlorine has released its new single, “Thanks For Nothing.”

The Alt/Pop-Punk group was founded by Guitarist/Vocalist Jared Russell early in 2021. The song was produced by Alan Day of Four Year Strong and Jake Massuco (also FYS) played studio drums on the effort. Chlorine is rounded out by Drummer OB and for live shows, the band will enlist the help of friends for bass and second guitar.

From left, Jared Russell and OB (Photo:Davey Muise)

Chlorine isn’t a band that appeared out of thin air – Russell has been building up to this moment for years since he began playing in punk rock bands as a teenager. Ever since beginning his professional journey in music, he was mentored and taken under the wing of Brandon Carlisle (RIP) of Teenage Bottlerocket. Russell credited him as the person who inspired him not only as a best friend but sealed his direction with pursuing music as a way of life. After a move to Portland, Russell spent time touring internationally supporting groups like Simple Plan and Waterparks, and soon after formed Chlorine during the downtime of 2020. The group traveled East to Massachusetts to track with Alan Day, crafting a set of songs that will soon be released.

“I founded Chlorine in 2021 and set out to do a grunge revival project while following my pop-punk roots,” Russell stated. “I have been playing in punk rock bands since I was 12-years-old and don’t plan to stop anytime soon. ‘Thanks For Nothing’ is a song I’m proud to release and I hope everyone feels the intense energy of the track.”


%d bloggers like this: