In Anticipation...


Band's album, 'Don't You Turn On Me,' to be released soon!

Chicago’s POISON BOYS will release a new single, “Little Speedway Girl,” Aug. 30, 2021, via Riot Records.

Poison Boys is comprised of Singer/Guitarist Matt Dudzik; Guitarist Steve Elfinger; Bassist Nico Bones; and Drummer Matt Chaney.

According to the band, this single is a tasty little punk rock romp that channels all the good vibes from rock legends like New York Dolls, The Stooges, Kiss, and UK punk acts such as The Heartbreakers and The Vibrators.

“Little Speedway Girl” is about meeting a girl at a gas station. And not just any gas station… Speedway. It lines the midwestern US on almost every corner. This person meets a girl who judges a book by its cover and initially thinks he sucks. But after talking with him, she realizes that he is not so bad. She ends up telling him to stick around till she’s off work to hang out.

The single can be pre-saved HERE.

The band’s beginnings go back to early 2014, when long-time friends Matt Dudzik and Mike Lippman felt there weren’t enough real rock n’ roll bands left, especially in Chicago. The two quickly put a band and demo together and began playing shows in the Chicago area, steadily gaining a following throughout the summer of 2014. Tragically, in the fall of that year, Mike passed away at the age of 23 due to an accidental drug overdose. In honour and continual recognition of their friendship, Matt decided to continue the band and the vision the two of them shared for the future of the Poison Boys.

Over the next three years, the band completed its first tour of the East Coast, releasing two 7″ EPs, Headed for Disaster (No Front Teeth Records, 2016) & Bad Mouth (NFT Records, 2017), ending in 2017 with a successful “Bad Mouth in the South” Southern US tour. In 2018, the band played a four-show West Coast stint in April dubbed the “Lost LA Weekend,” a two-week “Wasted in the West” West Coast tour in September, and released their first music video for the track “Bustin’ Out” from their third 7″ Poppin’ Eyes and Flashing Feet (White Zoo Records, 2019).

The following year was hugely successful as the band released their debut full length Out of My Head (Dead Beat Records, 2019), with two music videos “Tear Me Apart” and “Been Here All Night” from the LP, completing a triumphant East Coast/Canada tour in support of it all. The album was far from a straightforward punk n’ roll record, with songs ranging in style from The Stooges’ “Raw Power”- inspired proto-punk classics – like the title track “Out of My Head,” to a more sweet-sounding glam stomper like “Cut Right Out” and “Been Here All Night,” to the old school “Bomp!” Records/Hanoi Rocks influenced, sax-drenched hit “Desperado.” The album also includes an absolutely ripping cover of Larry Williams 1958 rock n’ roll standard “Slow Down” and the Dead Boys’ teenage lament “I Won’t Look Back.”

Poison Boys are clearly not slowing down anytime soon, having released a few singles and music videos for their upcoming album, Don’t You Turn On Me, before signing with Golden Robot/Riot Records in July 2021.

%d bloggers like this: