Briefly Speaking...


"It paints a picture of a very dark dystopian future."

Powerhouse Vocalist Myles Kennedy has released the title track for his upcoming album, The Ides of March.

“The Ides Of March” is the longest song on the album, clocking in at 7:39 and showcases the musicianship of Kennedy and cohorts – longtime friend and drummer Zia Uddin and bassist/manager Tim Tournier. The band stretch out musically as Kennedy sings an ominous warning “beware the ides of March.”

“From a lyrical standpoint, the first half serves as a warning,” explained Kennedy. “It paints a picture of a very dark dystopian future. The title is a reference to Shakespeare’s Julius Caesar and the cautionary phrase, ‘Beware the Ides of March.’ The second half breaks from the bleak outlook to remind us that we can do better if we remember who we are and what we were meant to be. Cool heads prevail in times of change.”

Kennedy used the recent pandemic to finalize his sophomore solo album. During his time at home due to all touring being canceled, Kennedy created the framework for the song ideas that would make up The Ides Of March. From the slide guitar riffs of the album opener “Get Along” to the pensive blues style of closer “Worried Mind,” Kennedy crafted a formidable follow up to his debut solo album.

While Year Of The Tiger was more of an acoustic exploration through Kennedy’s mind, The Ides Of March finds him strapping on his electric guitar and pushing himself as a guitarist/songwriter. Tracks like “A Thousand Words,” “Wake Me When It’s Over” and “Moonshot” showcase the diverse music arrangements that has garnered Kennedy a legion of fans globally across all of his projects.

The first single, “In Stride,” opens with Kennedy showcasing his slide playing before delivering a lyrical message to “take it all in stride.” The song is currently seeing heavy rotation at rock radio stations around the world, rising in the Top 30 at US Active Rock and leading to a Top 15 placement in the German Rock Radio Airplay Charts, and has received massive response from fans alike. The video for “In Stride” marks a return by Stefano Bertelli (who created the “Native Son” video for Alter Bridge) and shows an animated Kennedy as he takes the end of the world in stride. 

The Ides Of March was produced by longtime collaborator Michael “Elvis” Baskette and is slated for release on May 14th via Napalm Records.

The Ides Of March tracklisting:
1) Get Along
2) A Thousand Words
3) In Stride
4) The Ides of March
5) Wake Me When It’s Over
6) Love Rain Down
7) Tell It Like It Is
8) Moonshot
9) Wanderlust Begins
10) Sifting Through The Fire
11) Worried Mind

The Ides Of March is now available for pre-order in various configurations. Fans that pre-order The Ides Of March digitally will receive instant downloads of “The Ides Of March” and the current single “In Stride.” All versions of The Ides Of March can be ordered HERE.

The Ides Of March will be available in the following formats:– Digital Album

  • 1 CD Jewel Case
  • 1 CD Digipack (Napalm mailorder, limited to 500 worldwide)
  • 2 LP Gatefold Black Vinyl
  • 2 LP Gatefold Gray Vinyl (RoW only)
  • 2 LP Gatefold Bottle Green Transparent Vinyl (Napalm mailorder, limited to 400 worldwide)
  • Limited Deluxe Box: Glow In The Dark Vinyl + Cover Artprint + 7” Glow In The Dark “A Thousand Words” Vinyl Demo Single + Pendant + Slipmat (Napalm mailorder, limited to 700 worldwide)

For more info visit:

%d bloggers like this: