Briefly Speaking...


"It is about the collision of the heart and mind in struggling to find that internal resolution."

US prog metal outfit OCEANS OF SLUMBER released “A Return To The Earth Below,” the single off the band’s self-titled album which is scheduled for release on Sept. 4 via Century Media Records.

OCEANS OF SLUMBER is: Cammie Gilbert (vocals), Jessie Santos (guitar, backing vocals), Alexander Lucian (guitar, backing vocals), Semir Ozerkan (bass, guitar), Dobber (drums, piano/synths), and Mat Aleman (keyboard).

“Within ourselves, just as within our societies, there are cycles that need to be broken,” stated Vocalist Cammie Gilbert. “Cycles that hold us down, that tear us apart, that give us anguish. Sometimes without warning these cracks surface and they trigger a cascade of emotional vulnerabilities, emotional turmoil, even hopelessness. But at some point we must stop running. Stop running from the pain, stop running from the truth, stop running from ourselves. In the light of this self reflection is where we will find peace, both inwardly and outwardly. ‘A Return To The Earth Below’ is about that journey. It is about the collision of the heart and mind in struggling to find that internal resolution. We feel that the timing of this single couldn’t be more appropriate, as we have all found ourselves at the crossroads of change.” 

The album can be pre-ordered HERE.

“We’d like to thank Giannis Nakos for the beautiful artwork that captures not only our imagination, but the depths and darkness of the story the album holds within,” Gilbert added. “While there’s plenty more to come, we must be patient for the full album.”

Oceans Of Slumber track-list:

  1. Soundtrack To My Last Day        
  2. Pray For Fire        
  3. A Return To The Earth Below     
  4. Imperfect Divinity 
  5. The Adorned Fathomless Creation         
  6. To The Sea          
  7. The Colors of Grace        
  8. I Mourn These Yellow Leaves     
  9. September (Those Who Come Before)   
  10. Total Failure Apparatus   
  11. The Red Flower   
  12. Wolf Moon


%d bloggers like this: